Why I’m Running For Alderman And Other Updates

tl;dr (or tl;dw)
I want to run because the kind of council person that I would like to interact with doesn’t exist so I’ll serve as an example of one.

Web 3.0

I think the most powerful driving force for getting me to run is the lack of Web 3.0-ness in government from the local to federal level (although I will give WhiteHouse.gov props).

Government’s on such FAIL. We have SOOOOOOO many cool tools that could be used to communicate with the constituents to promote debate and discussion and… it’s not being used. Why?

I don’t even mean super complicated stuff. A simple blog that I could subscribe to for updates and leaving feedback would be awesome. I’ve been trying to wrap my head around that “why” questions since getting back from Taiwan and the best answer I have is… “if it ain’t broke don’t fix it.”

Although a ton of things might be broken for constituents, the people getting elected like keeping things the way they are. Why change if they don’t have to? Here comes change…

Milwaukee – The Most Socially Connected City In The World

The statement above is a mission I’m on. “Most socially connected” means we have the most socially savvy:

  • Citizens
  • Politicians
  • Businesses
  • Nonprofits
  • Community based organizations
  • Churches
  • Schools
  • You get the idea…

Local politicians claim to represent their constituents but… how do we really know? Our news comes from TV, radio and newspapers. When there’s a high concentration of socially savvy citizens we’ll KNOW (or be closer to knowing) whether someone is truly representing the people based on… blog posts, what’s trending on twitter, polls on the politicians blog (that only registered voters can post on… that wouldn’t be too hard to sort out)…

And the kind of discussion and debate that will arise when the Milwaukee population is active on YouTube, blogs, twitter, Facebook, etc. in a political, educational and entrepreneurial way will be… awesome (or at the least REALLY interesting… πŸ™‚ )

The Most Dangerous Man In America

I watched a pretty inspirational documentary the other day. The inspiration was two fold. On one side there was all the deception from the political officials driving the war in Vietnam, on the other was Daniel Ellsberg (and his crew) working to expose the system.

What REALLY stuck out was the various quotes from Nixon which pretty much amounted to (and I’m paraphrasing) “There’s no way a little country like that is going to beat the US, I don’t care how many people get killed. We’re going to win this war.” He was making statements like that after being told that there’s no way to “win.” WHAT. THE. FUCK?!

Hearing that made me feel confident in my ability to do political shit.

Born And Raised in Milwaukee

The final bit is just the fact that I was born and raised in Milwaukee (more specifically the 4th district). I really appreciate the history of the city, the various cultures I was raised in and exposed to and want to “give back.” To be honest, I was an angry little dude regarding the educational and governmental systems growing up. If I can do something to save angry young kids from turning into angry adults… I should give it a shot (since angry adults/young adults cause so many problems).

Random Updates

So… I took a short break from making videos and posting to the blog… That’s usually not especially interesting, but this time it was to reflect on some things. It’s funny that I’m now deciding to give running for office as I was thinking about “walking away” from “life.” Upon further reflection I figured I have a lot of karmic stuff to sort out before “retiring to the mountains” so… I’ll ride out the things I’ve started (and continue to start πŸ˜‰ ) and enjoy the ride.

I’ll talk about all of that in future posts/videos.

Daodejing (道德碓) Chapter 8

The best are like water
bringing help to all
without competing
choosing what others avoid
hence approaching the Tao
dwelling with earth
thinking with depth
helping with kindness
speaking with truth
governing with peace
working with skill
moving with time
and because they don’t compete
they aren’t maligned

I ended my video with the above quote from the daodejing. A part of me thinks that running for political office as a “Daoist” is going against Daoist philosophy. The other half is saying I would be going against “the dao” if it’s what I “naturally” want to do don’t because it doesn’t seem “daoist”. And the other 33% is laughing at the first two halves. πŸ™‚

What I like about this passage is that it somewhat expresses what’s going on with my running. I don’t see this as competing anymore than I see a martial art match as competing. All of the competitions I’ve done as a martial artists were getting me closer and closer to never competing. Also, while “competing” my goal isn’t to beat my opponent, it’s to grow as a martial artist.

My new “martial art” is economics, politics and entrepreneurialism (actually, I have a long list of entrepreneurial failures… lol). Martial arts is like business and politics. One has to “invest in loss.” Running for office gives me an opportunity test a lot of skills I’ve been working on for a long time (marketing, democratic organizing, debating, etc.)

As a martial artist, the most precious gift an “opponent” can give you is a thorough ass whooping. Something for you to take home and reflect on. That said, I look forward to my opponent(s) helping me grow and I will do my best to return the favor. πŸ˜€ All in the spirit of making the City of Milwaukee and the people running it “better.” I’ll do my best to “be like water” bringing help to all (the people I’m running against, the people I’m running for, miltownpops and Milverine)

This is going to be fun… πŸ™‚

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Why I’m Running For Alderman And Other Updates

  1. Penney Morse says:

    There isn’t an election for at least a year, is there? It seems like every week, you have a new focus.

    • miltownkid says:

      Why you hating on my focus game?! lol This is clearly in line with Social Milwaukee. πŸ™‚ Actually, it’s done a lot to make me MORE focused on the Social Milwaukee efforts.

      The election is next year (February and April). I’m going to seriously run, but I’m also doing it to learn about the process.

  2. Eklctc says:

    *clapping* I’ll campaign. πŸ™‚

    I commend you on your drive. Politics is something I stay away from. Well, kind of. I would make a lot of stuff happen, including shit hitting the fan, if I interjected myself into politics; however, I could never really get a leg in because I would be too candid, too non-mainstream, and too open to exploring and actually listening to people. Not to mention, my life would always be in the news and I would always be in the news with it acknowledging everything-

    Reporter: Nominee Eklctc, is it true you were a stripper?
    Eklctc: Why, yes it is. Thanks for asking.
    Reporter: So you popped that thang for money?
    Eklctc: With much skill. Would you like me to teach you a few moves?
    Reporter: And you have had sex with family members?
    Eklctc: Yes and No. Adopted and married in doesn’t really count to me. Though I think my blood uncle got a few strokes in too.
    Reporter: And what about this bestiality claim?
    Eklctc: Rest in peace, Rover.
    Reporter: Are you a witch?
    Eklctc: I fit the bill on some days.
    Reporter: Some say you are an atheist?
    Eklctc: More like a non-theist. I believe in Spirit. Just not in the same way mainstream America demands I should in order to be a national representative of this nation- a nation in which they stole from those who did believe in Spirit in the way that I do.
    Reporter: Don’t you worry about how people will receive you with your tattoos, piercing, and head-banging music?
    Eklctc: My look and musical preferences do not negate my knowledge or ability. We are allowed to be individual, are we not?
    Reporter: One last question, Eklctc. Grits with cheese or sugar?
    Eklctc: One bowl of each please.
    πŸ˜€

  3. Bugsy X says:

    I support your run for office 100%…even though I live in Nashville now. So I guess u can say that u have my spiritual support homie. Break a leg!

  4. JoeSomebody2 says:

    The best way to change the system is to become the system. I hope the world and law is accepting of you, because they really should be. πŸ˜‰ Though I have to wonder, will there be a political scandal or such an attempt made against you? How would you handle it in the midst of making MKE work?

  5. Pingback: I’m 100% Union Made And Union’s 2.0 « miltownkid.com

Leave a Reply

