FOCUS

That was my big take away from last night’s Spreenkler meetup. Focus. I’ve been told, read, seen, heard, etc. that I should focus hundreds if not thousands of times but… it never sunk in like it did last night. Maybe it’s because of who the message came from:

Meet PerBlue

PerBlue is a mobile and social gaming startup out of Madison, WI who have created the largest location based MMORPG in the world (it’s called Parallel Kingdom, check it out if you’re a gamer like me. 🙂 )

Basically these guys have created something… AWESOME. Something I truly think is super duper awesome. Not many people/companies do that for me so I listened a more attentively. They have a team of… AWESOME. And their biggest breakthrough was dropping 3 other projects to focus 100% of their effort on making one SUPER SWEET project. Now they have a team of 28 all focused on… ONE THING.

That’s major. I tend to tell myself “If I had a team of 28 (or whatever) then I’d REALLY be able to do X, Y, Z, A, Q, and over 9,000.” I guess that’s not the case… More people = more focus on that ONE thing!

What’s Going To Be My Focus?

OK. So now I’m convinced that I should focus on one thing. What’s that one thing going to be? I teach tai chi, I recently formed a company focused on sales and marketing, I have this blog and YouTube channel, I’m starting a “meet up” focused on making Milwaukee awesome using social media, I have a personal development system/app I want to create, I still want to build up my clan of digital warriors

All but one of those things need to be dropped so I can focus the majority of my time and effort on the ONE thing. It’s not like I’m going to totally kill off all of the other things, but that one thing will take precedent over the others.

I have a pretty good idea what that one thing is going to be. I’m going to talk to my business partner about it today, spend a little time in my journal and I’ll let you guys know in a day or so. 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to FOCUS

  1. Penney Morse says:

    What one thing have I been saying to you for years?…….Casey, just focus on ONE THING and you’ll do fine. Did you really finally hear that from someone?

    • miltownkid says:

      I’ve always heard it but… I don’t think the timing’s ever been right. Now my lack of focus is hindering growth where in the past I think it’s what was right for me to do (not focus). This “business world” is a different beast! Focusing on a lot of different things is cool for reading books and thinking about stuff. It’s not so cool if you want to build something EPIC. I think it’s time for me to put away the Legos and bust out the EPIC BLOCKS. 🙂

  2. Pingback: And My Main Focus Is Going To Be… | miltownkid.com

  3. Faust says:

    Good luck to you man! If anyone can do it you can!

  4. Joseph says:

    I had to drop a whole lot of different projects just to stay focused on 2-3 and I am getting a lot more momentum on all of them. It’s way better that way for me.

Leave a Reply

