An Update

No fancy titles today. A general update about a bunch of different things. First my work situation…

Work

I said it in the video, but I’ll write it here too. I quit the job selling windows and am working on starting my own business doing sales and marketing. I learned a TON of things from the window job and got a lot of basic sales experience (it’s not easy walking into a person’s house by yourself and selling them thousands of dollars of stuff in one sitting!) What pushed me to “move on” was the work/life balance. I worked 6 days a week sometimes 12 hours in a day, plus putting an average of 120 miles on my car a day. It was kicking my butt.

And then, because the gods have an outstanding sense of humor, while I’m in the midst of feverishly working away on the startup (and simultaneously post my wiener) I get invited to interview at a job that truly appears to be a good fit. Such is life. πŸ™‚

Low Hanging Sales

That’s the name of the company we started (it’s all incorporated and everything). If you didn’t catch it, it’s a play on “low hanging fruit.” We’re going to be a sales and marketing company that seek out the most lucrative things for us to market and sell and… market and sell them. The plan is to start out focusing only on commission based sales and eventually move into consulting for clients using what we’ve learned as a commission based sales and marketing organization.

You can follow the shenanigans of that business on the website (which I’m working on), the Twitter and the YouTube.

We’re going to talk about what we’re doing (successes and failures), review books and whatnot.

The Tai Chi Trip To England

This will get it’s own post, but the trip to England was VERY successful! I learned a ton of new things both for myself and for my students. I met a lot of really cool people who invited me back. Plus I got to a living tai chi wizard, Patrick Kelly.

I didn’t have much time to do anything but learn tai chi. The limited amount of time I had after class each day was spent… sleeping because of the jetlag. πŸ˜›

That’s All Folks

That’s enough for now. I’m sure I left stuff out but I’m in HUSTLE mode. πŸ™‚ Things were kind of crazy for me and the SalesHulk our first few weeks working together. We went from crazy brainstorming to having a formal company with office space to boot in less than a month. Next week we’re going to smash out our business plan, attend some meetings and… CLOSE SOME SALES! πŸ™‚

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to An Update

  1. JoeSomebody2 says:

    Dig yo. Hopefully it rocks out. πŸ™‚

    In regards to marketing, how would Low Hanging Sales market Duke Nukem Forever, seeing as the company 2K Games used may have flubbed?

Leave a comment