Reviving The Search For The Dream Job

So I’ve been flip-flopping for the last week or so about whether I should keep my nose to the grindstone with the job I have or pick up the search for my dream job again. I had the definitive conversation about it with my girlfriend over dinner last night.

What I Love About My Current Job

The thing I love most about my current job is the challenge. Walking into someone’s house who was expecting a “free estimate” and walking away with a sale of $2,000-$20,000+ isn’t easy to do. I still have a lot to learn before I’m masterful at this process and I love that. I also love the interaction with the different people I see every day. Every day I’m in 1-3 new houses, with new situations and meet people with new problems they want solved. I’m getting better at it but it’s not easy figuring out exactly what problem a person has so you can show them the value of your solution.

Besides the challenge and interacting with people there’s a possibility of a third thing to love which would be doing my own marketing/lead generation. They currently aren’t doing anything online to generate leads and build rapport with prospects and I know I’d have a lot of fun doing that (YouTube videos, Facebooking, Tweeting, etc.) I just don’t have enough time, which leads me to…

What I Don’t Like About My Current Job

If I’m reviving the job search, there are obviously things I don’t like about my current job. I understand that even my dream job won’t be “perfect” but I’m certain that I can do better than where I am now. My largest dislike would be how much time the job eats up. I actually don’t mind working long and hard, but that isn’t exactly the case at this job. Here’s how my schedule works. I don’t know what time my first appointment is until the night before (around 9PM) and I have no idea how many appointments I’ll have for the day. Plus I often have to drive about an hour or more to my first appointment and I have no idea what time my last appointment will be. And that’s my schedule Monday to Saturday every week.

So I might leave the house at 9AM and not be back home until 10PM. There will probably be large stretches of time in between appointments but… I haven’t been very good at turning that downtime into anything productive. πŸ˜›

Other than the time and the driving (spent $530 on gas last month!) is that I’d like to get more exposure to more people. Because of all of the down time, driving, people not being home, etc. I don’t see as many people as I’d like to in a given week. I’d really like to be in a sales situation where I get more frequent exposure to more people, even if it was on the phone.

I also wish the guys there were more tech savvy and I was a little worried about one of the bosses seeing this post… lol

What I’ve Learned For Dream Job Search 2.0

I took the first job I got offered because I was trying to save money for an upcoming trip that I’ve now decided not to do. That said, I think taking the job was a really good idea because I learned a few things:

  • Being available for my taichi classes is non-negotiable
  • Making $3,100/month is more than enough (to start)
  • I REALLY like sales
  • I want to sell/market something or have a job related to my background (I’m selling windows/siding right now)
  • I want to work somewhere willing to embrace or already embraces technology and the web (and might actually catch a post like this πŸ˜€ )
  • Work/life balance is important
  • I would prefer a more fixed schedule
  • The culture of the job is important to me
  • Experience I get and the environment I’m in is more important than money

The Next Move

I’m not going to quit the job I have right now or make a rash decision that will take me “out of the frying pan and into the fire.” I’m still learning a ton about sales every day and getting a ton of experience. What I’m going to do is start investigating companies and jobs that seem like a good fit for me, ask around and, like Goldilocks, find something that’s “Juuuuuust right.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Reviving The Search For The Dream Job

  1. Penney Morse says:

    Guess you’re counting on your current employer not being very tech savy:) Have you approached them about giving you time off from sales to create a web presence?

    • miltownkid says:

      Yeah, I brought that up already. The owner that’s in charge of the internet stuff is hesitant to invest energy into it because a good friend of his got ripped off by a disgruntled employee. That’s understandable. I think the most important thing for me is to have a better work/life balance. I don’t currently have enough time for my hobbies and brainstorming. πŸ™‚

  2. Faust says:

    Sounds like a hard job. Man in Gas alone, that’s a lot of expenditure. But could you see yourself in an office 9-5? Everyday? For the rest of your life?

    Good luck to you. You should make a YouTube vid on your job situation, but more like another on-the-road one. Let those people there see what you do.

    • miltownkid says:

      Definitely couldn’t do 9-5 every day for the rest of my life, but I could do it while I stacking up savings and getting rid of the remainder of my debt. πŸ˜‰ I already started filming my day for everyone as a result of this post. πŸ˜€

  3. JoeSomebody2 says:

    And here I thought I was the one who spent a lot on gas in his line of work. I spend about half that, and it’s one of the expenses I look forward to dropping. Your car must be a monster of a machine to take that many miles. Dag yo!

Leave a Reply

