Alcohol Won’t Touch My Lips Again Until…

My mom’s going to love this post. This morning I decided that I’m giving up alcohol until accomplish some goals. Here’s…

The Story

Remember that Portal 2 game I was complaining about? I posted it on CraigsList last week and someone texted me about buying it yesterday. I included a bonus of free delivery if someone acted before today so I ended up driving out to Cedarburg to deliver it. It was cool because I met him at a bar he hangs out at, got introduced to a bunch of his friends and ended up getting free drinks the whole night.

It wasn’t cool because about a mile away from the establishment I noticed that I had a flat tire… πŸ˜› The first thing I thought to myself is “Since I’m all the way out here, I’m going to have a beer.” One beer turned into two, then his friend won $1,500 playing the lottery so two turned into… Instead of taking care of the flat right away I waited until… well… I didn’t take care of it. I told myself I was going to, but in the back of my mind I was like “My girlfriend’s going to have to come get me so I can take care of this tomorrow.” And that’s exactly what happened (and she wasn’t exactly really happy with that… lol)

(Bad) Luck Favors The Prepared

I could have done so many things differently. When I got the flat tire I could have changed it immediately. I could have had a can of Fix-A-Flat in the car (about to go pick up a few cans now). I could have had some kid of roadside assistance service. Any of these things would have been good options.

On top of not being prepared, I impaired my mind with alcohol… Bad idea. Had I been prepared, the flat tire wouldn’t have been a big deal. Now I have to go take care of something now that should have been dealt with last night.

No More Alcohol Until I Complete The Following Goals

A lot of my goals right now are “basics.” Precursors to larger dreams. I’m publicly giving up alcohol until the following things are taken care of:

  • I make $5,000/month from my own E.L.F. (easy, lucrative and fun) business.
  • I have no debt.
  • I have 1 year of living expenses in savings.
  • I am engaged to my girlfriend and purchased her a ring.
  • I am in top physical condition and eat healthy.

I love alcohol and love drinking, but if it isn’t doing anything positive to move me closer to these goals then it has to go. Perhaps this will be the beginning of shedding a number of things that are not moving me closer to what I desire. Also, once these things are accomplished I be MUCH more prepared in a number of areas of life. Some directly related to the goals (like finances) and some indirectly related to the goals (like level of organization I’ll have to achieve to reach them).

Happy early mother’s day mom! What better gift could I give you! πŸ˜€ lol

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Alcohol Won’t Touch My Lips Again Until…

  1. miltownmom says:

    You got that right–that’s the best gift you could give me. It’s one of those things a parent can’t lecture a child on because he/she has to find out for themselves. For me, it only took one or two hangovers to know I never wanted to feel like that again.

  2. sandy says:

    You and your mom are cool folks. Mom sounds like a baby boomer.

  3. The New Loud says:

    Whoa dude – Fix a Flat is really terrible for your tires. Its better to just get a roadside assistance service for like $50/year like AAA – but don’t get AAA, because there’s better shit out there now.

    Also, dude – you know there IS alcohol in Beer right? So no alcohol=no beer?

    Just checkin.

    • miltownkid says:

      Where do you get your information? There’s nothing wrong with Fix-A-Flat. All I found is that the tire repair dudes hate it because it makes a mess when they swap out the tire. I should have just changed the tire, but it got me back to Jennifer’s house. I think I’m going to get a full sized spare and some kind of road side service (I’ll have to do some research).

      And yes, I know beer is alcohol.

  4. The New Loud says:

    ALSO: Its OK to not drink, but maybe you’re drinking for some stress relief of the new job or something. Just because you stop drinking doesn’t necessarily get you closer to your goals. Anything could have the same effect as drinking – video games, even having a girlfriend could be taking you out of the goal mindset – maybe for recreation, maybe for relief. But if you stop everything I don’t think that will necessarily get you closer to the destination either.

    • miltownkid says:

      Alcohol definitely isn’t helping me get closer. Not only is it not helping, it’s holding me back. It has to get shelved for now. I’m happy with video games and my girlfriend for stress relief. πŸ™‚

  5. Magdalicious says:

    Interesting, have you ever ‘stopped drinking’ for any real stretch before? I do it pretty often, but more because I just get bored of drinking and don’t want to, I find the most annoying part is the peer pressure oddly enough. People just don’t like it when you won’t even have one little drink, I’ve found it’s easier to have to some bs reason lined up like “I’m in training so I can’t drink” which is almost true for you anyway. I always use the marathons as an excuse, that “I’m training for a marathon so I can’t it” usually makes people back off. Either that or buy a coke and let them think it has something in it… oddly it’s really the hardest part, your friends.

    • miltownkid says:

      I’ve stopped a few times but never made a big deal out of it. Sometimes it just kind of happened, others it was a clear decision on my behalf.

      You don’t even want me to comment on the second half because you already know what I’m going to say! I’ll say it anyway. πŸ˜‰ Any “friends” that don’t like it would have to get shed too. I’m writing all of those goals on the back of a business card and anyone that asks is going to see it and get the story (whether they want to or not). πŸ˜€

  6. If I didn’t know better I’d be misled to think that alcohol is the carrot that you think will drive you to get shit done.

    How about celebratory near-death binges at each milestone? Those items on the list are basics – but they are hard to achieve, otherwise you (and I) would have mastered them already.

    • miltownkid says:

      I’ll do a follow up post to clarify and I 100% agree with switching it up to “celebratory near-death binges at each milestone.” πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

