Pocket $1,000 For Helping Me Find My Dream Job

That’s right. Actually, I plan on giving away $1,000 to two people. One to the person who makes the introduction and one to the person that told them (in person, on a blog, in a tweet, etc.) Sound crazy? Maybe, but here’s a question for you:

How Much Would You Pay For Your Dream Job?

After I came up with the idea for paying someone for a referral to my dream job it got me thinking. How much was I willing to pay for my dream job? A job that I loved doing, was engaging, challenging and all of that fun stuff. The first number that came to mind was $5,000.

Then I started asking other people. After telling them to be realistic and that no one would pay them $1,000,000/year for doing nothing, here are some of the responses I got.

  • I would pay that person every year for as long as I had the job and for as long as it was awesome.
  • I’d pay that person every day if I was happy.
  • $90,000 (total student loans!)

It seems like being a freelance “Dream Job Hunter” could pay pretty well! 😀

How You Can Help Me

Anyone reading this post on Valentine’s Day has a head start. I wanted to launch everything today, but I haven’t finished the mini-site that will have all the details. I’ll need two types of people:

  • People that can get the word out through email lists, blogs, tweets or dancing in the street
  • People that can introduce me to my potential dream boss

I think I could have done all of this without a cash prize, but it’ll be a lot more fun this way. Plus I’ll be really hesitant to accept a job that is going to cost me two-thousand smackers!

There’s going to be two websites. The mini-site where you can sign up to participate and get all of the details (CaseysDreamJob.com) and my resume website that people can use to introduce me (CaseyPayne.info).

I’d love some feedback about the resume website. I’m still editing it now. Also, if you have any comments about the “Casey’s Dream Job” contest idea, I’d love to hear them.

My Dream Job

I recently had an epiphany about business.

“Without marketing and sales there is no business.”

Marketing and sales are the lifeblood of business. Without them it doesn’t matter how cool your widget is or how much of an expert or guru you are. No sales, no money, no business.

Also, I really like selling! It’s fun talking to people and helping them find solutions to the problems plaguing their business or life. Another aspect of sales is that it’s performance based. The more I learn and the harder I work, the better I get paid. I want to do everything I can to make giving up any of my precious time on this earth as lucrative as possible. On top of that, by selling products or services I believe in I’ll be making the world more awesome at the same time.

Sales and marketing will also be a SUPER important part of any business I start in the future. So…

My dream job is an entry level position at an awesome company where I can facilitate personal growth and learning in sales, marketing and business while being a profitable member of the team.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pocket $1,000 For Helping Me Find My Dream Job

  1. miltownmom says:

    Good Luck. You mean house painting wasn’t a dream job?:)

Leave a Reply

