Pwning Geometry Wars 2 (and Life!)

I had an interesting experience the other day. If you don’t already know, I wake up every morning and write a list of goals. I was trying to beat a friend’s score in Geometry Wars 2 and thought to myself “I should make this one of my goals! I could practice 30 minutes a day until I beat him.” Less than 10 minutes after I had that thought. BOOM! His score is beat.

It might not sound that interesting until I tell you how long I’ve been working on it. Over 2 years! For 2 years I sat in front of the TV “on a mission” to beat his high score and… nothing. I got closer and closer, but I never beat it. This was serious shit! I’d at times have 4+ hour sessions on that game trying to beat his score with no success.

Deciding To Do Something Vs. Trying To Do It

I think a switch got flipped in my head the moment I told myself “This is what I’m going to do and this is what I’m going to do to get there!” The 2 years prior to that I would sit in front of the TV trying to beat his score. I hadn’t decided that it was what I was going to do. I figured it would eventually happen if I kept trying.

It sounds corny but just like Yoda said:

NO! Try not! Do, or do not. There is no try.

I’ve “known” this concept for a long time but I don’t think it really sunk in until this week. It’s a huge shift in the way you tackle/look at something.

When you start deciding instead of trying make sure you choose things you believe are possible. You probably don’t want to start with lifting X-Wings out of swamps using the force. 😉

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pwning Geometry Wars 2 (and Life!)

  1. Penney Morse says:

    That is impressive. Makes me want to start my own list of things to DO:)

Leave a Reply

