Started Daily Goal Writing. Again.

Last week fate led me to a list of goals I wanted to accomplish in 6 months to a year. It was from July of 2009. The list was suppose to work by making your desires clearer thus helping your conscious and subconscious mind manifest them faster (or something to that effect). Writing this list once is suppose to to positively effect the future, doing it everyday is suppose amplify the effect. When you write it everyday, you’re not just copying what you wrote the day before, you write the list again “fresh.” I did this for about 2 weeks.

Discovering What’s Really Important To Me

The list was suppose to be organized with the most important things near the top and least important things near the bottom. Then you took a second piece of paper to brainstorm how you could accomplish the thing at the top of the list. What I ALWAYS had at the top of my lists was something to the effect of:

I make $10,000/month.

As I flipped through the days, that was always at the top until one day… It vanished! It was replaced with something like “I live a simple life,” “I make $10,000/month,” wasn’t anywhere to be found on the list. What the fuck?!

Although it was never at the top of the list, I always had something like “I run a successful tai chi school,” or “I lead an organization of entrepreneurs, life pwners and gamers.” Even after “I make $10,000/month,” stopped showing up on the list. Even I, with daily reflection, tricked myself in to “chasing the money.” I still do want to make $10,000/month (with my current short-term goal set at $5,000/month), but that’s not what motivates me to “do stuff.” What motivates me are my passions.

Fast Forward To Today

Even though I hadn’t seen that list in over a year, I started working on it as soon as I moved back to Milwaukee (this July oddly enough). But with no list and no false goals to deceive me, I instantly started working on the things that motivated me the most. I setup a website for my tai chi school (even though I didn’t have any classes and wasn’t teaching), I setup a website about personal development and I started to rebuild The MilTownKlan.

My passions motivated me to act, not money (although money seems to do a good job motivating lots of people. ๐Ÿ˜‰ )

Yesterday’s Brainstorm And Today’s Goals

The way I’m going about it is writing the goals and choosing one of the most important goals to brainstorm on a separate sheet of paper. The outcome of that brainstorm sheet determines what I’ll get done for the day (along with any usual chores or work.)

The main goal I chose to brainstorm yesterday was:

I lead an organization focused on personal development (pwning life), tai chi, daoism, video gaming, business and the web. (Note: It’s already been rewritten.)

Here is a picture of the brainstorming:

Here are today’s goals in the order I wrote them minus personal stuff that doesn’t need to be on the Internet ๐Ÿ˜‰ (I shoot for 10 a day, the important ones are on there everyday, less important ones come and go.)

  1. I make $5,000/month from my tai chi classes and consulting.
  2. I have 50 paying students who I enjoy teaching in my tai chi classes.
  3. I own and operate a consultancy (SocialMilwaukee) that teaches organizations and individuals in Milwaukee how to leverage social media for profits, passion and purpose.
  4. I have 20 paying clients in the Social Milwaukee monthly program
  5. I created an organization whose members focus on personal development, entrepreneurship, gaming, a passion, using the social web and creating a “dream life.”
  6. I regularly produce content for Pwning Life.

There you have it. I will continue to document my successes and failures with trying to make all of this happen on the blog PwningLife.com. The blog will be for 2 books. One book documenting the journey and the other a “how-to” (or “how-I-did”).

Have you ever tried any goal setting like this? What method did you use?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Started Daily Goal Writing. Again.

  1. miltownmom says:

    I just kept saying I was going to retire when I turned 55 and move to Iowa. When I first started saying it, I didn’t know how it would happen, I just kept saying it. The closer I got to 55, I did a little investigation and discovered I had to work until 56 to get insurance, so I pushed my plan back a year and that last year, I focused on making it happen, and it all fell together.

  2. Magdalicious says:

    I did it for a while.. I did find it motivating in a sense, no not motivating, clarifying. I don’t really remember why I stopped. But I do remember the list sort of looming over me, making me feel cruddy and guilty about what I hadn’t accomplished. Any suggestions or solutions for that?

    • miltownkid says:

      The list DEFINITELY shouldn’t have loomed over you. Perhaps you set goals that you internally felt were too high? For example, I’ve scaled back the $10,000 to $5,000 (feels a lot more doable to me right now). Also, just in the 3 days that I’ve done it, I’ve scaled back the number of coaching clients from 40 to 20. That felt better.

      I think the “magic” is in the second part. The “brainstorming.” Think about what you can do TODAY to move that goal forward. It might be a phone call to make, an email to send or some other work to do, but you’ll have something clear and actionable.

      Yeah, if it feels “looming” I’d recommend kicking back things some notches, find success in smaller goals and then work up to bigger ones.

  3. Pingback: Pwning Geometry Wars 2 (and Life!) | miltownkid.com

  4. elvalentino says:

    Nice it’s good to see that you’ve got yourself organized with your life. I think you and I are on the same boat, at the moment I’m doing one of Brian Tracy’s programs – No excuses, along with his Maximum Achievement Goal-Planner. It’s made me way more productive and actually a lot happier. I just can’t wait to see the changes I’ve made a few years down the track, here’s to 2011 ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • miltownkid says:

      Should I check those two things out? I saw you mention them on your blog and meant to ask you about them. I got what I’m doing now from an interview Brian Tracy did, but some more in-depth would be cool too.

      • elvalentino says:

        If you ever get the time you really should check out No Excuses.. a lot of people never finish it, they get a few hours into it and then abandon it but if you can manage to pull through like I have been you’ll be far better off in your life in the long run, I recommend it

Leave a Reply

