From Zero To EPIC In One Week

I’m always amazed at how draining intense thought can be. Pretty much every waking moment of this past week I’ve either been thinking about or working on my [“Secret Plan To Raise $36,627 In One Month Using Social Media!”] (blog post describing the plan). I’m taking a break today. πŸ˜€

Some Thoughts About “Epic Planning”

Before last week I didn’t have a plan for what I was going to do during the month of August for “Social Activism” (the mission theme this month for the FiestaMovement – Ford’s social media marketing campaign). All I knew is that I wanted to do something EPIC and something for DonorsChoose (a nonprofit that helps teachers raise money for projects in the classroom).

Then I thought to myself “What would be epic?” and that’s when I came up with the idea to fully fund every project located in the Milwaukee area. Once I had my “epic idea” I had to figure out a way to make this idea come to life. My original (and perhaps better) plan was to find some people/companies to take on the responsibility of getting one (or more) projects fully funded. Done this way, one group of individuals would be focused on a smaller chunk of the pie. Raising $300 in a month to fund one project is pretty easy for almost anyone to do (especially with some guidance). Raising $36,627 in a month to fund 68 projects sounds… epic? lol

Instead I decided to focus on creating a page that encourages people to donate $1 and spread the idea. The reason I decided to focus on “plan B” instead of what I thought to be a better “plan A” is because, based on previous attempts to do epic fund raising, I realized the importance of leveraging my strengths. To begin with, I pretty much only had one resource… me. I’m not so good at organizing and managing things and I realized that splitting up 68 projects would call for a fair amount of organizing and managing. Also, I thought recruiting others would be easier AFTER I had something that was up and functional.

Zero To EPIC In One Week Is Really Zero To EPIC In Two Years

Even though I JUST decided to do all of this last week the plan that came together is based on a lot of things I’ve been studying and trying over the past couple years. For example, the website asking you to donate $1 is based on a “squeeze page” template used in internet marketing. The original template was designed to get your email address. I changed it to get you to donate (so DonorsChoose.org can get your email address πŸ˜‰ ). The style of the sales video is based on what I’ve learned from studying under Jason Moffatt and watching pretty much every Frank Kern sales video I can.

Failure helped a TON as well (it always does πŸ™‚ ). I just looked at (and edited) my blog post from two years ago when I tried to raise $16,000 in one month. There is a quote from that post that’s worth posting again here for anyone considering doing some EPIC FUND RAISING:

I’ve never tried anything like this and don’t really know what I’m suppose to do to raise the funds, but that seems like 90% of the fun!

So I guess what I’m saying is that even though I’m pulling this off in a week, it’s taken me 2 years of reading and trying stuff to get me to the point where I can pull something like this off in a week. πŸ™‚

Phase 1, Collect Underpants. Phase 2…

If you’ve never seen the South Park episode with the underpants gnomes, then you probably didn’t catch the reference of this heading. It’s one of my favorite episodes. Here’s the clip on YouTube and you can watch the full episode (Season 2-17) [here]. Basically, the South Park kids need to create a business plan and the Underpants Gnomes tell the kids they know all about business. After the kids make their trip to the underpants cave, here’s the business plan they show the kids:

Phase 1: Collect Underpants
Phase 2: ???
Phase 3: PROFIT!!

I kind of went off on a tangent, but the point I was going to bring up is that a lot of my “plans” look really similar to the underpants gnomes plan. I think I did a little better this time. πŸ˜€

This week was “phase 1.” All I wanted to get done this week was create the “DonorsChoose Squeeze Page” (go there and donate if you haven’t!) With that out of the way, I can take a couple days to chillax and regroup. Beginning Monday next week, I’ll be going on a HARASSING PEOPLE FOR $1 campaign both on and offline. I think I’ll also put elements of the original plan in motion and see if I can get anyone else to take ownership of some projects on their own project page.

GOT TO GET TOUGH, YO JOE!

Thanks to years of watching the TV show and playing with the toys, I grew up hardcore! I think I’m going to take my Little to go see the G.I. Joe movie today. That would be nice. πŸ™‚

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

