I GOTTA HAVE MUH INTERNETS!!!

Don’t laugh at me but… I thought I didn’t need to have internet at my house. I took my desktop computer into the new office I’m working out of and thought to myself “Yeah, now I’ll be able to read more at home and keep my house clean.”

Then I went ahead and disconnected my house phone and internet (since I wasn’t really using it) and thought to myself “I’ll pick up a Blackberry. Yeah, that’ll be enough internet for me when I’m away from the office.”

Then I was depressed for like a week and couldn’t figure out why…

I Am A Netizen

I was chatting with a buddy earlier today about this situation and he said “Yeah dude. You’re a netizen.” I’ve heard the term before, but I never thought much of it. After reading [the Wikipedia entry] on it… Yep. That’s me!

I sometimes wonder if I’m “addicted” to the web or if I play too many video games. Every now and then I have these moments when I’m like “I need to spend less time online and… spend more time in ‘the real world.'” Well, from today forward FUCK THAT! I’m going to fully embrace my love for technology and the internets! I’ll be cautious to maintain a balanced relationship with the web and technology, but I’m not going to beat myself up about it anymore (yeah, I actually beat myself up about how much webbing I do. :P)

One Foot In The City One Foot In Nature

This may be obvious to a lot of you, but this is a pretty large realization for me. I go through these cycles where I’m FULLY immersed in technology. At my last peak (in Taiwan) I had my PS2 and Xbox hooked up to an HDTV next to my main desktop with a Linux machine to play with in the same room and an iBook for going mobile. It wasn’t SUPER high tech, but I had everything I wanted (and needed).

The realization I’m having now is much like the one my Taichi teacher gave me about living. When I made a statement about wanting to escape to the mountains and practice Taich all day he said:

“One foot in the city, one foot in nature. Balance.”

I suppose if I tried to translate that statement into my current situation about the online and off-line realm, it would be something like:

“One hand on a keyboard, one hand on a beer. Balance.”

🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I GOTTA HAVE MUH INTERNETS!!!

  1. Magdalicious says:

    lol… I knew it I was waiting for this post/realization 😛

  2. Pyro says:

    MTK!!! What up man?! I dropped off the face of the planet for a bit…but I’m back now. I know you missed me ;P

Leave a Reply

