Getting To The “Tipping Point”

I was going to write a whole post about how it seems like I and the things I’m working on are reaching a tipping point, but I decided to wait until after I finish [the book] (I just picked up a copy). Instead, I’ll just talk a bit about the idea of reaching a “tipping point” from what I know now. 🙂

Malcolm Gladwell talks about it in the first chapter of the book and you can [read about it on Wikipedia], but it’s interesting where the term originated from. Basically, “back in the day” when Blacks would move into a White neighborhood there was a certain number of black families that was too much for other White families to stand. Lets say 3 or 4 Black families were alright, but as soon as it hit 5 or 6 *POOF* the remain Whites in the neighborhood would ghost (aka White Flight). Even though the percentage may have shifted from 15% Black families to 20% there’s some small point where it’s too much. (Note: I made those numbers up to make a point.)

I think the title of the book pretty much summarizes the whole book. Imagine a bucket of water. You start tipping it over and you eventually hit a “point of no return” where all the water spills out. The interesting thing about that point is that there’s just a fraction of a difference change that brings about total water spillage.

Before comparing some recent events in my life to the book title, I thought it would be appropriate to read it first. Perhaps I’ll actually have crossed the tipping point when I finish reading it and follow up. 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Getting To The “Tipping Point”

  1. Magdalicious says:

    Sounds like a cool book, dibs.

    Did you ever read some of Jlick’s little books? like Fish, the Present, or The Dip?

    If not, you would really like the Dip.. it’s by the same guy why wrote tribes and seems to be in the same field as this tipping point thing.. well not the same but similar.. it’s all about sticking to the right things (through the dip.. which is where everyone quits) and quiting the wrong things before you waste loads of energy and resources on them. 🙂 just reading it now. And I thought it’s very much your cup of tea.

  2. miltownmom says:

    Finally a new post. See how long it took me to read it? I gave up checking every day again–plus I had to work 3 days this week.

  3. Ken says:

    LOVE Gladwell, we have him coming on the show soon hopefully!

    If you like Gladwell, you might like Douglas Rushkoff as well!

Leave a Reply

