The Homeless Dude Jesse

I should share this one on my blog too.

I NEVER give money to people that ask. I’ve made a commitment not to. So when Jesse asked me for some change, naturally I said no. But something happened inside of me this time. After passing him I thought to myself “I bet I could get an interesting video out of this dude and then I could pay him for his work.”

Our Conversation

miltownkid: “Hey. I make videos and put them on the internet. I don’t give people money BUT I wouldn’t mind paying you for some video work. If I give you a dollar, would you do something for me on camera?”

Jesse: “Yeah man, thanks. That’s cool.” (And a God bless you was slipped in there somewhere)

miltownkid: “Cool. Well, you can do whatever you want. I’ll make sure some people see it. Tell a story, say what you’re about, tell a joke. Whatever.”

Jesse: [Starts singing]

miltownkid: “Is this what you want me to record? Should I start now?”

Jesse: [Still singing]

miltownkid: [Starts recording]

Anyhow, I like this new protocol for dealing with people that ask for money. I don’t know if I’ll do it to everyone, but if I like someone’s vibe I’ll give them the opportunity to do a little video production work. 😀

Jesse said he used to write music/songs and do other cool shit like that.

Jesse’s Video

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Homeless Dude Jesse

  1. kevin says:

    That’s like Thomas Hawk’s $2 Portraits:
    http://thomashawk.com/2008/08/i-started-2-portraits-group-on-flickr.html

    I think it’s a great idea. I like how Thomas Hawk talks with the people he takes portraits of and includes that with the photos. You could do something like that with video too – find out a little about the person, who he his, where he came from, what he’s done in life, etc. It often turns out to be a really interesting story.

    (p.s. it would be awesome if you installed the subscribe to comments plugin for wordpress: http://wordpress.org/extend/plugins/subscribe-to-comments/)

  2. Magdalicious says:

    Cool Idea, You should interview him if you run into him again… I sat down and chatted with a couple of homeless people in Vancouver, ended up taking one for lunch because I was having a good time talking to them and another I felt bad because I literally had no money to give them. The second one told me I had given her more than money, I listened to her story and encouraged her to keep strong and that was more to her than and change I could have spared. 🙂

    Some people are just messed up or lazy, but some of them… just need a little kindness and understanding.

  3. miltownmom says:

    Nice touch:)

  4. shandybass says:

    i like magelicious’s idea to interview him

  5. Nice blog, I love to see this kind of content, keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

