The Face of Milwaukee’s Web 3.0

There it is.

[Steve] made a comment last night after I said something to the effect of taking over the Internet and world with my elite group of cyber-ninjas. The comment “He’s serious.”

miltownkid – Serious Business

I’m going to do something I rarely do in person or on-line. Be “transparent.” This is a gift to Steve and anyone else that happens to stumble upon this post. I usually hide my highly methodical mind behind a cloak of beer, video games and bad dance moves. But today I’ll stand naked (mostly). First, let me start off saying that I’m joking and serious about just about everything I say/do. Often times even I don’t know what I’m joking or serious about (and at the same time I always know πŸ™‚ ).

OK, enough of that. Lets talk about Web 2.0, and then, your new leading expert in the field of Web 3.0 will give his three cents on that.

What’s Web 2.0?

What IS Web 2.0? I don’t fucking know and neither does anyone else. Web 2.0 is a vague collection of new Internet shit that people in the business of making money think will make them millionaires. Internet shit like flash, blogs (and the ability to leave comments), “interactivity” (or at least the illusion of it) and all sorts of other shit like that smashed together into a nice Internet poo sandwich. All it does is confuse people that aren’t ‘net savvy and piss off people like me who are because then you get people who don’t know what it is asking you to explain it to them. That’s Web 2.0.

What’s Web 3.0?

Well there’s already [a bunch of shit on Wikipedia] about it. You can try figuring it out from there, or listen to the creator of the new Web 3.0.

Web 3.0 – The merging of the off-line and on-line realm through old-skool and new-skool technological shit.

That’s all that’s going on really. There’s no need to try to figure it out much more beyond that. Now, knowing this, seek to understand it better and then make cool shit to work with it.

Why Is This Happening?

See, I was born at a funny time in a funny situation with funny people and a funny neighborhood (I should really delete that, I have know idea why I wrote it). What I was basically trying to say is I was born in between Gen-X and Gen-Y. Now, like most buzz words, I don’t really know what the fuck that means except that there’s a group of people coming of age that didn’t know what life was like without the Internet and there’s a group of people that came of age without it and doesn’t know what the fuck to do with it (hence all the stupid buzzwords like Web 2.0 to help them understand it.)

People that grew up on-line (Note: Go fucking watch [FRONTLINE: “Growing Up On-Line”]) understand the on-line realm in a way people who haven’t can’t/don’t. BUT people who don’t understand the on-line realm usually have a better grasp of the off-line realm (I’m super hesitant to write that since I think most people don’t know what the fuck is going on in either). Anyhow, people that have a deep understanding of on-line life (blogging, web presence, on-line communities, etc.) AND off-line life (networking, [NLP Magic], [big pimpin’] etc.) are going to use the web in new and exciting ways that people not familiar with both will never figure out. These new ways are Web 3.0 says I! (With no college degree or authority to make declarations such as these).

How Do I Expand My Business and Make a Million Dollars from this New God-Like Information?

Uh… What the fuck kind of question is that? You’re insane!

Seriously though, you might not want to ask me that as I don’t really have any money (although I like to call myself a Spiritual Billionaire πŸ˜€ .) I can give you my opinion on this though. Here it is…

Follow your passion and don’t quit doing that until you die. If this Internet shit isn’t all that cool to you and your trying to figure out how it can increase traffic to your site, convert sales or whatever, just stop. Pay someone like me to do that shit for you and focus on the shit that’s interesting to you and then I’ll give you your money back when I need your services. We’ll both be happier that way. πŸ˜€

In Closing

Everyone seems to be missing the point. This game isn’t all about making money (although that’s a part of it and now I’ve finally decided to try playing). It’s about sculpting your life into some shit you look forward to EVERY SINGLE SECOND OF EVERY SINGLE DAY. I mean… I’m not there yet (and don’t think I’ll technically ever be) but that’s what I’m always moving towards.

Read these two books. They kick ass.
[Shibumi] (I’m not sure how chicks will feel about this book. Guys will love it though. πŸ˜€ Everyone will love [this little explanation]. Oh… And here’s [my video version of Shibumi])
[The Four Hour Workweek] (follow his [blog] too)

Note: My whole act yesterday was a part of a clever plot to get you to read this post and for some of you to read some of the other books and links. I’ll go back to my random blog posts about dead birds and such after this. πŸ™‚

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Face of Milwaukee’s Web 3.0

  1. God says:

    “Follow your passion and don’t quit doing that until you die.”

    That’s why you are one of my favorites Casey…you figured out the secret.

    I like your blog too by the way. Good job, I’ll make SURE you get laid this weekend!

    Peace and Love,
    God

  2. Magdalicious says:

    lol Wow.. I knew you had some far reaching readers… πŸ˜‰

    It’s interesting you mentioning the generation the is in the ‘internet gap’. I was talking to crykoda about it last night, how when I went to school there was internet but it was just the beginnings and most people didn’t use it. At my university no one had a laptop, there was no such thing as wifi, and everyone was thrilled with the ‘awesome internet access’ that we had.

    It’s a short period of time.. only 4-5 years I suspect of people who grew up with out internet and get introduced to it in their ‘late youth’ old enough to be rooted in the ‘real world’ but young enough to have a real online presence and understanding. From your description it sounds like the ‘generation in the gap’ will be play a major role in the development and function of web 3.0.

  3. Pingback: The MilTownKlan Musically Declares War On The City of Milwaukee « miltownkid.com

Leave a Reply

