Finding My Blogging Niche

If you look at my about page you will see that when I wrote it I didn’t really have a Niche, or set topics for the blog. I pretty much stated that it will be about my personal life and things that I’m into (which can change faster than a speeding bullet changes a head into a splash of red when headshotting mutha fuckas on Rainbox 6: Las Vegas.)

The other day Wife was like “You should have a topic for your blog,” and the funny thing is I was thinking the same thing earlier that day. So I’m going to clean up my category list and have it narrowed down to about 5 things I think. Here they are (number 5 won’t be a big deal for a while.)

#1 Martial Arts in Taiwan (With a Focus on BJJ and Taiji)

There is now no question in my mind that I’m a martial artist. It’s been a serious passion of mine for over 10 years now, longer than that if you include the years when I was fascinated with the movie Karate kid and got my mom to sign me up for karate.

Brazilian Jujitsu (BJJ) is the newest collection to my bag of arts. I’ve been practicing it for about 2 years now and have reached the rank of Blue Belt. I’ve also kicked loads of ass around Asia (and have video footage to prove it.)

I’ve been doing Taiji for about 7 years and it’s one of my favorite things to do (even though I haven’t formally practiced for quite some time.) I’ll actually be teaching a Taiji class in the near future so I’ll post about that.

So that’s the first thing. I’ll be posting more about the going ons with Martial Arts in Taiwan, with a focus on BJJ and Taiji (though I’ll keep on eye out for other things as well.)

#2 Financial Independence

I’m totally addicted to the idea of one day being financially independent, and I will pursue this goal until victory is had (hopefully while blood is still pumping through my veins.) I’ve been reading a lot of books on this issue and I’ve already made REAL changes to my life that can be seen in the form of actually having money in a bank account somewhere πŸ˜€ (that’s how it starts πŸ˜‰ .)

I will post my monthly tabulations under this category heading along with tips and tricks that I pick up along the way. This topic will morph over time (I think.) My current focus is developing money saving habits. When that is done, I’ll actually have money saved and will look for investment opportunities. Then I’ll continue investing and get better at it, until one day I’m sipping mango juice on the shores of Thailand (or something like that.)

#3 Being Bi-Polar

My wife seems to think that me writing about being bi-polar would be interesting and would perhaps help people somehow. I personally think a blog about being bi-polar would have been a lot more interesting back in the days when I hadn’t achieved the level of stability that I have now, but I suppose talks here and there about the things I do to manage it might be OK too. Plus, one never knows, maybe you’ll be lucky/unlucky enough to read a psychotic blogging SPAZ OTU!!! YEEE YEEE YEEE!!!

Probably not though.

#4 Video Gaming (Currently Focused on Xbox 360)

I honestly enjoy the time I spend with my Xbox 360. It’s what I’m currently all about as far as gaming goes, but that will change one day (or they may be new additions, like when MGS4 comes out.) I tend to be a little bit behind the times when it comes to gaming, but that’s alright. I’ll just post about the shit I’m doing and how I feel about new gaming shit.

#5 Being a Pimp Ass Mutha Fucka Getting a Under Grad. Degree in Taiwan

This one isn’t certain just yet, but I’ll be applying within a week or three’s time. I’ll be applying to several departments and I stopped by the university to see what kind of shit they what on the app (writing some shit in Chinese will blow their minds I was told.) This won’t be a major topic right now, but I’m sure it’ll get major coverage once school starts.

Miscellaneous

Everything else will go under miscellaneous (or personal, I’ll probably keep that one.) Even though I’ll stick to blogging about the shit above, I know I’ll have plenty of other shit to snap about from time to time. If I start to snap about something enough I’ll give it it’s own category (like for beer, I’m sure it won’t take long for beer to get it’s own category), but I’m pretty sure the above topics will be the meat and potatoes (for a while anyway, I’ll give’m a swing.)

Final Words

I like this whole blogging thing and it has brought me… cool things. Like that mutha fucka Pyro from New York (WHAT UP NIGGA!) And that Wine PIMP in Austria (not to be confused with Australia.) I’ve also been learning a lot about myself while writing all this shit down. Mom likes it. Yeah, it’s all good.

So, expect some changes in the coming weeks. I meant to do them over the Chinese New Year break, but instead I drank a lot of beer and partied (OK, there will definitely be a category for Beer/Partying πŸ˜€ .)

Thoughts?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Finding My Blogging Niche

  1. miltownmom says:

    Now doesn’t wasting all that time over Chinese New Year conflict with saving money? I like to throw back a couple of beers, but I haven’t been sloppy drunk in 30 years. Guess you haven’t gotten to that point yet πŸ™‚

  2. Pyro says:

    Thanks for the shoutout, man. =D

    But yeah, I suggest going with the gaming (of course), the martial arts, and the degree.

    The bi-polar thing should probably go into the miscellaneous/personal part as I feel it doesn’t exactly need it’s own category. The financial independence should be posted monthly like you said. Seems like a good way to stay organized and on top of things and shit.

    Damn, that was long for a comment. Haha.

  3. Luvbeers says:

    I must say that one reason I have subscribed to your blog is because you are one of the most random people I have found on the net. I look forward to your updates because I can not guess what the next topic will be… from some thai dude falling in the gutter, to brain-teasing math problems, to the latest Xbox Achievement, to the stress that cleaning the spare room brings to your life.

    Its completely naked.

    Maybe categorize your archive, but any other normalization just would not be you dude.

  4. Will says:

    Thats cool, you found direction. I’m still trying to find mine on my site. And I still have no love on your site. *sniff*

  5. miltownkid says:

    Thanks for the comments everyone (and I’ll get your linked hooked up soon Mr. Will πŸ˜‰ )

    @Pyro – I agree about the Bi-Polar thing. Maybe I can write a book about it one day or something, for now I’ll mix that into personal.

    @Luvbeers – Excellent suggestion. Actually, one of the reasons I finally got “into” blogging was because decided I would just write… whatever. I think I’ll continue doing that, but I think I also want to focus on a few things a bit more. I find it strange that I write almost nothing on Martial Arts, yet it’s a hobby that takes up most of my $$ and time (with Xbox at #2 and drinking beer at #3 .) We’ll see what happens (JORDAN!)

Leave a Reply

