miltownkid vs. Microsoft (The Story)

I’ve been waiting for the day I had the chance to do another David and Goliath like battle. My last foe (Gillette) folded quickly and quietly (see this post.) My new target is Microsoft. I’m happy and sad at the same time. Why am I happy? I LOVE battle. Even if it’s battling digitally through email, I’m in love with it. I think this battle is going to take me to the Microsoft Taiwan head offices, demanding JUSTICE!

The Cries of Gaming

Why am I sad? Well, a few days ago my Xbox360 starting freezing while playing Gears of War. I decided that my Xbox was having a bad hair day that day or something and left it alone. The next day, the same fucking thing. Well, maybe it was something funny about that level on Gear of War, I know, I’ll play Call of Duty 3 instead (while the 360 decides whether it wants to start playing GOW again or not.) WAIT A SEC! No I won’t. 2 minutes into playing COD3 my shit freezes on that.

I have absolutely no idea what brought about this freezing. It was fine one day, and fucked the next. I don’t remember downloading an update in between the two days. Nothing happened to the 360 between the two days. I never had a problem like this before. I bought it back in March or April, so it’s not like it’s old.

I’ve been hearing about a lot of people having trouble with their Xbox360s. A friend back home has had to send his in twice. Getting this problem fixed shouldn’t cost me a dime and better not take ages to get repaired, or heads will roll. HEADS WILL ROLL!!

[30 minute pause]

Troubleshooting

Well, googling Microsoft Support, brought me to (this page.) I tried all the shit there, and my machine still froze up. I realized that I didn’t change the date and time, so I turned it on to fix that. Then you know what I got?

3 flashing lights of death

The above image means there’s a hardware problem and I have to take it in.

So here’s the time line.

  • Thursday, December 7th – Xbox360 Freezes for the first time (after 10-20 minutes of game play)
  • Friday, December 8th – Xbox360 freezes after 1-5 minutes of game play.
  • Saturday, December 9th – I record first movie of Xbox360 freezing (2 seconds of game play.)
  • Sunday, December 10th – Recorded another movie after following all Microsoft’s support advice. Immediately after booting up again from the freeze, I get the 3 red lights of death (and I cry.)

Round one of this fight will be coming up shortly.  I’m sure it’ll start with an email to Support.
Watch the video of these events below.

I haven’t tried it yet, but I have found one solution to the 3 flashing lights problem:

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to miltownkid vs. Microsoft (The Story)

  1. Clive says:

    Typical of Microsoft, they sell substandard defective products, then require you to waste valuable time trying to fix their problem. someone should start a world wide class action suit. And Microsoft should fire all the incompetent, creatively constipated,deficient jokers who now write their programs! Do you know the old ruleKISS? KEEP IT SIMPLE

  2. miltownmom says:

    Yeah, and did you get your class action law suit information agianst Micro Soft? You have to fill it out with documentation by like next February. That has to do with some other Micro Soft problem. Looks like the giant has just gotten too big.

  3. Ian Dawg says:

    lol – that second video with the slapping was nice.

    Are you gonna send microsoft ur video- its pretty funny…

Leave a Reply

