Hello Philippines! (Day 1)

I had a good time in the Philippines and will post back with photos and videos and all that tomorrow.  Today I’ll give you a textual description of the trip.

Getting There

Because I decided to do this thing last minute, things were a little crazy at first.  I bought my ticket on Thursday (well, I Ping did,)  but I couldn’t get a hotel arranged because I lost my credit crad (oops!)  So after school I had to zoom back into the city (work in Yingge) to administer a test for another school I work for.  Then I had to zip to the travel agent to get my ticket, flew home for a spell (to pack and all that jazz.)  Then I had to speed out to Lotus Hill to walk some dogs and spend the night at a friends place.

When I woke, I walked dogs, did the "Chicken Noodle Soup" dance (to appease the great BJJ gods of Aisa) and drove to my wife’s brother’s house.  Got a ride to the airport and the adventure began….

At the airport I ran into a fellow BJJ buddy (Nick.)  The funny thing is it was the same guy I went to the Philippines with last year.  Speaking of wild stories this guy was on his way out of the coutry and may possibly never come back.  That’s a whole other story.  We chatted up about things and stuff (as I like to do) and boarded the plane.

Getting Comfortable

After arriving we headed straight to the hotel to see if I could get a room with at the same hotel.  Sometime between the ride from the airport to the hotel we found out that the other guy he was going to be staying with wouldn’t make it that day because of the Typhoon, so I got my room (shared with my buddy.)

After a quick an Tripple S (Shit Shower and Shave) we met up with a friend that lives in the Philippines, Rio.  Rio got to meet us early because it was a holiday.  Our first destination was FOOD.  I think we ended up eating at TGI Fridays of all places (on a Friday even.)  After that, Nick wanted to grab a nap, so Rio and I decided to roll around.  He took me to a mall where I could get a new SIM card for my phone (which I did.)  Then we had a look at a bunch of boot leg movies and video games (I just looked of course :).)

Time for a Massage

After that, Rio took me to a massage spot (a real massage spot, not a "massage" spot :P.)  I had the choice of full body, or one where we sat in these lazy boy type chairs and got foot massages.  I went for the Lazy boy, foot-back combo.

The back portion was pretty good, except for the machine thing I was sitting in had a broken adjustable face thing, so it kept slipping down and squeezing my eyeballs >.<.  The foot part was excellent though.  I was in a constant state of "wakeful dream" where I didn’t know what was going on.  Rio said I was snoring (I don’t remember that part.)

When we were done, we went back to the hotel to meet up with Nick.  Nick was upset that we got massages without him, so we went back to the massage area to try out the other place.  There I got a ful body Shiatzu/Swedish thing.  It was pretty good.

Beer and Scantily Clad Women

Eventually Nick ended up back in the hotel and Rio and I ended up in a place called "Beer Paradise."  The bar was appropriately named because they had a very large selection of beers.  We each sampled about 4 of them (that’s about 8 different beers between us) over a nice chat.  Rio told me about how he’s done a lot of moving in his life, but has lived almost the same life since he was 18.  Work, beer, rock n’ roll, BJJ.  He’s this really laid back Japanese dude that spent some time in the US, Taiwan and the Philippines (with work.)  He said he misses Taiwan for it’s "action" (or something like that.)

After beers in Paradise we stuck our heads in a bunch of the girly clubs in the area.  Most of them were the kind of place that as soon as you went in a flock of girls swarmed you like bees to honey.  I decided to pass on all the places like that.  Rio said there was one bar the Americans like going to, so I checked that place it.  It was pretty cool.  The girls there just danced and left you alone, so you could enjoy the thing you really went there to enjoy…. beer 😉 (well, that and dancing girls :D.)

I told Rio that I could cut up the dance floor pretty good and would if my kind of song came on.  After I said that (damn you alcohol) Rio kept egging me on, trying to get me to dance.  Eventually something that was close enough to "my kind of song" came on and I busted a move on the dance floor.  A bunch of the dancers gathered to watch a real professional move (I learned everything I know from Shirt Ninja.)  A couple tried dancing with me, but they were too shy and would run away (funny that.)  But an older waitress girl came out and cut it up with me.  That was fun.  Then Rio "treated" me to a shot of tequilla, for dancing fuel.  Evetually they stopped playing my kind of music and it was time to get back to the hotel.

Got to the hotel at 3am and needed to be up at 8am for the competition.

I slept, and then it was time to compete…

[tags]philippines, scantily clad, beer, massage[/tags]

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Hello Philippines! (Day 1)

  1. Sinclair says:

    videos…

  2. miltownkid says:

    I don’t have any of “those” kind of videos… It’s all silly shit of me walking around.

  3. Tetsuo says:

    And getting flipped by tiny pimps?

    Also: http://img144.imageshack.us/img144/939/1208060009nx7.jpg
    Weeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

  4. miltownkid says:

    Oh, snap. Looks like I’m going to your house. Which one did you get? Jap or US?

  5. Alex says:

    Hey man,

    I was there the same time as you, I also enter the tournament, I had a great time overall; your team was pretty much next to ours (Team Guam).

    Later,

    Alex

Leave a Reply

