Checklists and New Books

An idea I got from the book "Getting Things Done" was to make checklists for things.  Until today I never applied that idea anywhere, but it sounded like some really good shit.  Basically, for things that are going to be the same every time you do them, you make a checklist so you won’t forget anything.  So if you’re like me and prone to forgetting to bring your digital camera on a vacation, you make a checklist that includes all the stuff you should bring so you don’t have to think it up everytime.

What I did was make a simple checklist for things I should do right when I wake up.  Sounds a little corny, but I have a list now that I MUST complete before doing anything else.  The list I’ve made is really simple, and you might laugh at the fact that I need one to assure I do these things every morning, but for me, time and time again, I wake up, get on the computer, use it use it use it, then rush, shower, breakfast and dash out the door.

If I end up staying on the computer too long (catch someone on Skype/MSN, start watching Youtube movies, etc.) then I might skip things and might, for example, end up at work a little stinkier than I should be.

Here’s the list I came up with this morning:

  • Notebook (as in write in it)
  • Eat
  • Medicine (as in take it)
  • Shower
  • Brush Teeth (and floss and all that)
  • Moneydance

It’s so simple.  Why can’t I just do that every morning?  I have no clue.  But I like this checklist idea.  I’ll make some other one’s for travel and stuff as well.

I Love Reading

I’ve finally become a reader (my mom will like hearing that.)…  Well, I always have been (video game reviews, technical manuals, etc.) but I’ve never really looked at myself as a reader.  Now I always travel with a minimum of 3 books with me (even if I’m only reading one.)  I’ll go so far as to say I LOVE reading.  It’s hooking my shit up.  All the shit you can learn from pimp ass mutha fuckas throughout time.  It’s some amazing shit.  It’s funny because after reading a book, you might only REALLY walk away with 1-3 new things (that you actually absorb enough to make a change) but it’s usually some good shit.  Then if you read it again, you’ll get 1-3 totally different things from it.

Anyhow, I go a new bag of books from the Sandwich Man himself Jlick.  The last batch was GREAT!  Loved them.  I’m sure I’ll love this batch too.

The last Batch included:

I made a little book video that I’ll let you watch, but the current batch are these:

  • Applied Economics (like part 2 to "Basic Economics")
  • Economics in One Lesson
  • The Millionaire Next Door
  • Learned Optimism

The other three books are books I bought or were borrowed to me:

  • Awaken the Giant Within
  • Did You Spot the Gorilla?
  • Getting Things Done

Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

