A Notebook: The Greatest Tool for… Everything

When I said notebook I don’t mean the computer variety that needs power, I mean a good ol’ pad of paper and pen. I’ve carried notebook along with me everywhere I go for a long time now, but I hadn’t written in mine for a while (until recently.) Flipping through my notebook gave me a bunch of insight into the mind of me over the past year.

It was mostly full of random to-do items, wants and goals. There was one long (personal) passage in there that I really enjoyed reading, and read it from time to time. Reading that last week inspired me to start “journaling” everyday. My journaling is a “random” mix of thoughts, to-dos, wants, goals and scribbles that seem important at the time of scribbling. I can already see that the daily writings will help keep me focused and I’ll be able to track my focuses as they move from one thing to the next.

I’ve noticed that doing this can be an excellent way to track anything you have to do on a daily basis (that you might forget.) I have to take “brain candy” everyday, and I’ll easily let 3 days go by without my fix (a which point I’ll start seeing the “Pink Elephants on Parade” ;).) Now, in my journal, at the beginning of each day I draw two squares. I put an X in one when I take it in the morning, and an X in another when I take it at night. I think I might expand on this list to include other things I want to do on a daily basis:

I think a daily checklist like this would work wonders for motivating a person (some people) to do things. A person could keep track of when they sleep and wake, foods they eat, whatever.
The notebook has also become the first thing I look at before I go to sleep and after I wake up. That allows me to stay on track with my thoughts.

I can understand how this whole notebook thing might sound lame to some, but if you “suffer” from the “problem” of having too many thoughts/ideas it becomes a burden to keep track of them all. This is one of the many things I’ve come up with to do a better job of keeping up an outside appearance of sanity.

I also know that this “discovery” of mine has been around for ages, but I’m finally getting in to this thing mortals call a “diary.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Notebook: The Greatest Tool for… Everything

  1. miltownmom says:

    There is a book called “The Artist’s Way: A Spiritual Path to Higher Creatifity” by Julia Cameron. The back says it’s For Writers, Poets, Acotrs, Painter, Musicians–and Creative People in All Walks of Life. It’s a guided journaling kind of book. I did it for a while–wrote in a journal for 30 minutes every morning. It was quite insightful, but then fall came and I had to go back to work. You might enjoy checking it ou:)

  2. miltownkid says:

    Thanks for the recommendation mom. I just googled the book and it looks really good. I think I’ll get my hands on it really soon and I’ll be sure to post a “review” of it when I’m done reading it (or going through the 12 weeks.)

  3. Pingback: My Projects: Time for a Break « miltownkid.com

Leave a Reply

