Pimp YOUR Blog – Tips for Making Your Blog Better

I’ve made a lot of changes over the last few days and I thought I’d share some of them with you. I also thought I’d share a few of the sites where I got these tips from.

Feeds (RSS Subscriptions)

There is a lot of learning to do in this department. Even techie me has found reading up on RSS feeds a daunting task. Well, over the last couple of weeks I learned much (and found I have much to learn.) Reading on will save you some time and trouble.

Two things I ended up doing was registering to Feedburner and Technorati.

Feedburner is going to be a great learning tool for RSS Subcriptions and it will also help you track who is subcribed to your feed. REGISTER NOW! 😉

Technorati is… Well I think they say it best:

Technorati is the recognized authority on what’s going on in the world of weblogs. We help people search for, surface, and organize bloggers and their daily posts.

If you have a WordPress Blog you’ll want to go on and install the FeedBurner Plugin v2.1. This will hook it up so all your RSS feeds go through Feedburner first (after you burn your blog, you’ll get a new URL you can use for RSS subscriptions.) This is a good thing. If you don’t have a Wrodpress blog, that’s OK.

If you look to the right you’ll see I have a bunch of buttons that link tot he varies RSS sites. You think I did that by myself? Heck no. I found an “Automatic RSS Feed Button Maker.” Check off the buttons you want, and now you’re rolling. You might have to mess with the code you get a bit, but that should be a biggie (if it is, ask a techie friend, or me.)

Navigation

A few things here. One, use categories and make them clear and easy to understand. I’m still working on that one, but you can start now as well.

Featuring some of your best blog posts is a good way to display your pimpness. That can be done by getting a group of posts together and linking on the right. If you have a WordPress blog, there is a plugin called “Popularity Contest” that, based of of some settings, will choose the most popular posts at any given time. You can see that on the right.

A Cool Way to Add Flickr Photos

The guy that made this theme, has a blog with TONS of blogging tips and information. There’s one post he has about how to add Flickr photos to your blog and how to do it like a PIMP!

See “How to: Add a Styled Flickr Photo Stream to Your Blog” and follow the steps there. He does a VERY nice job walking you through it, even I ran into some snags (nothing major though.) Following those steps is what hooked up the photos you see on the right.

Weblog Usability: The Top Ten Design Mistakes

I ran into Jakob Nielsen’s site useit.com a long time ago, but while reading up on blogging I ran into his top ten mistakes article. I recommend giving it a read through (it’s pretty short.)

Weblog Usability: The Top Ten Design Mistakes

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pimp YOUR Blog – Tips for Making Your Blog Better

  1. Thanks for these tips. I am investigating some of the websites you mentioned as I type this.

Leave a Reply

