Study(ing) vs. Learn(ing)

So I’m on my way to work this morning, drinking one of those fancy Japanese 7/11 drinks and looking at the bottle. After taking in the funny squiggles for a moment I think to myself “I think I should learn some Japanese.”

Then I thought, “Maybe I should finish learning Chinese first.” Then I realized you don’t learn a language, you study it, you use it, but you never learn it (like learning how to tie ones shoe, or learning your ABCs).

Then, as I sipped my pulpy lemon drink, I said to myself no one ever learns “Chinese” even though you’ll here things like “My friend learned Chinese in 2 years.” What the fuck does that mean?!?

Like break dancing, you don’t learn how to break dance. You either break, or practice (study) breaking. Saying you learned how seems to put a cap on the learning process.

So from this point forward I shall file my knowledge into things I study and things I’ve learned. On writing this I’ve realized one can continue to study something one’s learned already. I believe this refinement is what leads to mastery.

We all know (learned) how to kick, but it’s people like Bruce Lee that can put a hole in your chest.

I was going to post this over at Forumosa.com, but then figured I should just copy and paste it over here. They hear enough of my mental chatter, besides, I’m sure mom will enjoy it more than anyone else.

Another thing going on is that I noticed Skype in has the 414 area code now so I’ll have a local number people can reach me at and voicemail. That should be convenient. I’ll get the second computer setup over the weekend (so there’ll always be a computer connected to Skype).

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Study(ing) vs. Learn(ing)

  1. twonavels says:

    OK, I came, I saw. And I take it all back.
    No more photos please! No more photos please!
    😉

  2. miltownmom says:

    Deep thoughts. Whoever said no more photos, ignore that comment. You know miltownmom enjoys them.

  3. miltownkid says:

    LOL (

  4. ADOA says:

    have to agree with the miltownmom. in fact, ADOA believes every post should have at least one pic.

  5. Frostfox says:

    I agree with Adoa, just check out my site, every entry has a pic.

Leave a Reply

