I feel a change coming

I don’t know what it is about this Ubuntu, but I’m finding myself using this more than my XP machine. It feels really good for some reason. Even though it lacks some multimedia functions on the fresh install, it’s really easy to get them on (MP3, MPEG4, etc.). I think I like it’s stance on keeping this stable and legal out of the box and allowing the user to add this functionallity by themselves. Windows is pretty much the same way, except I’m sure some would say it’s easier to get working on Windows.

This Ubuntu is definitely a distro that someone could switch from Windows to with little to no pain. Another nice thing about Ubuntu is their forums and documentation. I thought Mepis was lacking in this area (from my one week’s experience with it).

I only have 2 hours of classes in the afternoon tomorrow, so I’ll try to get some pictures put up (it’s been long enough). If you haven’t noticed yet, I’m really liking the whole Linux/Open Source thing :D.

lates

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I feel a change coming

  1. Stuart says:

    I have a “live-CD” of Knoppix and very nice it is too. Now if I could only get one of these Linux flavours to pick up my modem……

Leave a Reply

