Another Day Another Flavor of Linux

So, late last night I traded in my newly install Mepis for Ubuntu. Yet another very solid and smooth Linux distribution. You can even get a copy mailed to you for free if downloading is a problem.

There are enough reviews floating around the www about this one, but I’ll give it the miltown stamp. If you have the time try it. There’s even a LiveCD version so you can boot it up without a hard drive installation.

I realized today that my time is worth approximately $40,000US/hour. OK, that figure might be a slight exaggeration, but I think people place far too low a value on their time (well, I feel like I do anyway). I understand that people need to put food on the table and all that, but doing too many hours a day and leaving little to no time for “me time” is a bad thing.

What’s bringing this out of me is working the second job in the afternoons. On one hand I’ll have more money at the end of the month, that I could save or buy stuff with. On the other I’m losing time that could be used playing with the stuff I already have. I guess the thing is I have so many projects I want to work on right now that time just feels really valuable to me.

Maybe you’ll want to skip reading this month. Maybe it’ll be full of tiddly little rants.

Let me just list some things:
Finished reading Diary: A Novel today
I got an email back from PHS apologizing about not letting foreigners sign up for mobile service (maybe I’ll do a vs. post)

OK, done for today.

Paint me yellow and call me a banana

miltownkid (looking forward to the end of the month)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Another Day Another Flavor of Linux

  1. miltownmom says:

    Hope you’re students remembered you on teacher appreciation day (May 3). I can relate to the lack of time issue. Wish me luck in changing schools. How do you like your new job?

  2. miltownkid says:

    They have a different Teacher’s Day later in the year. It’s Confucius’s birthday. The new job is actually OK and a good test for me. I’ll be looking for another job in the afternoon when this one is over, but only around 2 hours a day (well, I want about 10 hours a week somehow), and closer to home if I can find one. This one is 20+ hours a week (on top of the 15 I already do), and a little farther from home than I like. That’s too many hours for me.

  3. Mythrandore says:

    Hey Miltownkid – thanks again for doing it for me. I hope the kids are not giving you a rough time!

  4. miltownkid says:

    The kids are fine, it’s just the hours plus me staying up too late that’s getting to me :P.

  5. miltownmom says:

    Gotta get more sleep if you’re doing more work. Don’t forget to set that timer on the computer that tells you to go to bed!

Leave a Reply

